1 December 2019
5 p.m.
Luxembourg, Philharmonie Rainy Days Festival Happiness Machine EA

In a live performance, ten animated films, ten new compositions and ten women artists of eleven European countries propose an alternative to the prevailing capitalist economic system.

Elizabeth Hobbs/Carola Bauckholt — The Flounder
Rebecca Blöcher/Eva Reiter — Lickalike

Eni Brandner/Misato Mochizuki — PANTOPOS

Joanna Kożuch/Ying Wang — Music Box

Samantha Moore/Malin Bång — Bloomers

Vessela Dantcheva/Electric Indigo — Hierarchy Glitch

Ana Nedeljković/Hanna Hartman — The Happiness Machine

Susi Jirkuff/Joanna Bailie — Measuring the Distance

Andrea Schneider/Marianthi Papalexandri-Alexandri — Generator/ Operator

Michelle Kranot/Iris ter Schiphorst — Suggestion of Least Resistance
Rebecca Saunders — Sole

Krassimir Sterev, accordion
Joonas Ahonen, piano
Björn Wilker, percussion
Klangforum Wien
Musical direction: Konstantia Gourzi
Sound design: Peter Böhm & Markus Urban
Film projection: Martin Repka

Before the concert:
Sven Hartberger in conversation with Lydia Rilling (D)
4:45 pm, Grand Auditorium

Happiness Machine – The Movies and the Compositions

Happiness Machine is a project of Klangforum Wien, Musik der Jahrhunderte and Amour Fou Vienna in cooperation with Tricky Women.
Funded by Cultural Affairs Department of the City of Vienna and Federal Chancellery of Austria with special funding from the German Federal Cultural Foundation and Interfaces / Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.
The commissions to Iris ter Schiphorst, Malin Bång, Eva Reiter, Carola Bauckholt and Marianthi Papalexandri-Alexandri are funded by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

The video projections for "Happiness Machine" were realized with the software Isadora programmed by Mark Coniglio.