1 May 2019
6 p.m.
Cologne, Kölner Philharmonie Acht Brücken Festival Contretemps UA EA
© Esther Cantera

In his cycle Poética del espacio (Poetics of Space), Alberto Posadas examines the relationship between sound space and space sound. In the third part of this series of works, he studies the architecture of sound production, the instrumental space. That may sound like an experimental laboratory, but the result is impressive, refreshingly lively music. The Austrian Georg Friedrich Haas then expands space to encompass world politics, dedicating his new composition to Elin Ersson, the young Swedish woman whose moral courage prevented the deportation of an asylum-seeker to Afghanistan. Finally, Georges Aperghis places a soprano voice within an instrumental thunderstorm of sound, inspired by Paul Klee’s painting Vor dem Blitz (Before the Lightning). “Contretemps” – the aesthetics of adverse circumstances. (Acht Brücken Festival)

Alberto Posadas — Umbrales evanescentes ("Poética del espacio") world premiere
Georg Friedrich Haas — im Schatten der Harfen German premiere
Georges Aperghis — Contretemps

Donatienne Michel-Dansac, soprano
Gerald Preinfalk, saxophone
Christoph Walder, horn
Anders Nyqvist, trumpet
Mikael Rudolfsson, trombone
conductor: Sylvain Cambreling

Before the concert
Public general rehearsal,
12 pm, Kölner Philharmonie
Composers' talk, 5 pm, Kölner Philharmonie
Louwrens Langevoort in conversation with Georges Aperghis

The composer Alberto Posadas on his 3rd piece of the composition series:
Alberto Posadas — Poética del espacio