© Arshak Sarkissian
© Arshak Sarkissian

Evis Sammoutis — Secret Garden

Secret Garden is a composition that is based on a homonymous pencil drawing by the young Armenian artist Arshak Sarkissian. A copy of this pencil drawing is included with the kind permission of the artist.

I have been interested in Arshak’s pencil drawings for a while now since attending his solo exhibition at the Pharos Arts Foundation in Nicosia. Apart from the technical realization, I was also interested in the thematic approach.

Animal sounds play an important role in my works and animals play a big role in many of Arshak’s drawings. Human and animal hybrids appear often in his work, such as the humanoid creatures with bird heads, and the artist also gives great importance to the dress or hairstyle of his exotic subjects. Looking at some of these drawings, I feel that in some ways, the artist is trying to create an abstract mythology that transcends time, combining different cultural elements to create new mythical creatures. I have found his art to be in close alignment with the imagery of Primitivism as well as my own interest in mythology, animals, and the music of previous centuries. My strictly traditional formal training together with my contemporary aesthetic outlook, the frequently used process of mixing reality with fiction and traditional techniques and methods with unique thematics, yet always leaving room for interpretation, are some of my artistic qualities that I also see in Arshak’s work.

Secret Garden is based on an earlier work of mine, Particles, but here, not unlike some of Arshak’s creatures, it takes a completely new shape in a sextet format. The work is dedicated in utmost gratitude to the magnificent musicians of Klangforum Wien and also as a farewell sonic gesture to Sven Hartberger, the ensemble’s wonderful General Manager of several years.
—Evis Sammoutis, 2018

 in Werke
12 October 2018
8.30 p.m.
Nicosia, Shoe Factory Pharos Arts Foundation 10th International Pharos Contemporary Music Festival UA UA UA

Pierre Boulez — Dérive 1
Helmut Lachenmann — Pression
Jorge Villavicencio Grossmann
— Siray III – Cuadrados Concéntricos World Premiere
Thomas Simaku
— Klang Inventions World Premiere
Evis Sammoutis — Secret garden World Premiere
Beat Furrer — Retour an dich

Claude Vivier — Pièce pour violon et clarinette
Franco Donatoni — Argot

Oliver Vivarès, clarinet
Sophie Schafleitner, violin
Andreas Lindenbaum, violoncello

The composer Jorge Villavicencio Grossmann on his new piece:
Jorge Villavicencio Grossmann — Siray III – Cuadrados Concéntricos

The composer Thomas Simaku on his new piece:
Thomas Simaku — Klang Inventions

The composer Evis Sammoutis on his new piece:
Evis Sammoutis — Secret garden

Organised by the Pharos Arts Foundation.