Richard Dünser — der zeiten spindel I (时代主轴)
Richard Dünser, der zeiten spindel I (时代主轴)
Richard Dünser, der zeiten spindel I (时代主轴)

Der zeiten spindel I (2016) refers, amongst other motifs, to the poem De Profundis by Charles Baudelaire in the adaptation by Stefan George, as well as to the pictures The Returning Hunters by Pieter Brueghel, Dark Landscape with Rainbow by Caspar David Friedrich, and the opening of the novella Lenz by Georg Büchner.

This leads to the following formal arrangement:
The Returning Hunters I

The House with the Burning Chimney
The Far Mountains
The Chase (Memories I)

De Profundis

The Chase (Memories II)

Dark Landscape with Rainbow
Lenz

The Returning Hunters II

Pictorial details – the returning hunters, the house with the lit fireplace in the middle ground, the mountains in the distance, associations triggered by the images – and speculative memories of events that are not portrayed in the painting (Hunt I and II) are here transformed into musical metaphors, images, moods and “landscapes” which form part of the dramaturgy of the musical whole. Together with the central poem De Profundis by Charles Baudelaire, the language of which is transformed into instrumental music, the instruments turn into imaginary singing voices. This is followed by the painting Landscape with Rainbow, which generates spaces in “chiaroscuro” by means of spectral sounds and a radical cessation of movement, setting up the devastating atmosphere of the opening of Büchner’s Lenz, where the tragic hero wanders through a winter landscape without, however, at heart being able to move forward at all, being caught up in a spiritual condition marked by profound injuries and destruction; before the hunters return, albeit in variations, forming a large bracket which leads back to the beginning.

An important further colour in this work, which is so deeply informed by the occident, is provided by the Chinese instruments erhu and pipa who – as in a vision from a great distance – lend the piece added perspective and dimension.
(Richard Dünser, 2016)

Top

Richard Dünser — der zeiten spindel I (时代主轴)
Richard Dünser, der zeiten spiegel I
Richard Dünser, der zeiten spiegel I

der zeiten spindel I (2016) bezieht sich u.a. auf das Gedicht De Profundis von Charles Baudelaire (in der Nachdichtung von Stefan George), sowie die Bilder Die Rückkehr der Jäger von Pieter Brueghel, Dunkle Landschaft mit Regenbogen von Caspar David Friedrich und den Anfang der Erzählung Lenz von Georg Büchner.

Dies ergibt folgende formale Anordnung:
The Returning Hunters I

The House with the Burning Chimney
The Far Mountains

The Chase (Memories I)

De Profundis

The Chase (Memories II)

Dark Landscape with Rainbow

Lenz

The Returning Hunters II

Bilddetails: die heimkehrenden Jäger, das Haus mit dem brennenden Kamin im Mittelgrund, die fernen Berge im Hintergrund.

Assoziationen zum Bild – gemutmaßte Erinnerungen an nicht im Bild sichtbare Ereignisse (Jagd I und II) werden dabei in musikalische Metaphern, Bilder, Stimmungen und „Landschaften“ transformiert, die sich in eine musikalische Gesamtdramaturgie einordnen. Zusammen mit dem im Zentrum stehenden Gedicht De Profundis von Charles Baudelaire, dessen Sprachlichkeit sich in Instrumentalmusik verwandelt, werden die Instrumente hier zu imaginären Singstimmen. Hierauf folgt das Bild Landschaft mit Regenbogen, das mit spektralen Klängen und einem radikalen Stillstand der Bewegung „helldunkle“ Sphären-Räume entstehen lässt und die niederschmetternde Stimmung des Anfangs von Büchners Lenz vorbereitet, wo die tragische Hauptfigur durch eine Winterlandschaft geht, aber in Wirklichkeit im Innersten nicht von der Stelle kommt – in einer von tiefster Verletzung und Zerstörung geprägten Seelenverfasstheit gefangen –, bevor die wieder – variativ verändert – auftretenden heimkehrenden Jäger eine große Klammer zum Anfang bilden.
Eine entscheidende weitere Farbe in diesem sonst so abendländisch geprägten Werk sind die chinesischen Instrumente Erhu und Pipa, die dem Werk wie in einer Schau aus weiter Ferne zusätzliche Perspektive und Dimension verleihen.
(Richard Dünser, 2016)

Top